Birdsong 2013
PBS (2012)
Drama, History, Romance
In Collection
Seen ItYes
IMDB   7.3
2 hr 45 mins UK / English
DVD  Region 4   R
Isabelle Gomez Madame Bérard
Laurent Lafitte René Azaire
Anthony Andrews Colonel Barclay
Rory Keenan Brennan
Marie-Josée Croze Jeanne Fourmentier
George MacKay Private Douglas
Joseph Mawle Jack Firebrace
Thomas Turgoose Tipper
Patrice Thibaud Monsieur Bérard
Richard Madden Weir
Eddie Redmayne Stephen Wraysford
Clemence Poesy Isabelle
Matthew Goode Captain Gray
Justin Chadwick
Philip Martin
Writer Sebastian Faulks
Abi Morgan

Birdsong is a drama series starring Eddie Redmayne and Clemence Poesy as passionate young lovers Stephen and Isabelle, brought together by love and then finding themselves being torn apart by the outbreak of the First World War. The series is an adaptation of Sebastian Faulks's modern classic of the same name.
    Seen it: Yes   0 hr 1 mins    1/22/2012  1.  Episode 1
Stephen and Isabelle start an illicit affair, with ends up having huge consequences for them both. Years later in 1916, Stephen finds himself serving on the Western Front in the very place where he experienced his great love. He meets Jack Firebrace, a tunneller who ends up helping him endure the ravages of war and enables him to make peace with his feelings for Isabelle, who he is set to meet again.
Director:  Philip Martin  Writer:  Sebastian Faulks  / Abi Morgan (screenplay) 
    Seen it: Yes   0 hr 1 mins    1/29/2012  2.  Episode 2
Stephen recovers from his injuries but he is still haunted by memories of his affair with Isabelle. Stephen ends up unexpectedly meeting Isabelle again as he and his men prepare for a major offensive at The Somme The battle is devastating and in the months that follow, Stephen starts to find some comfort in his friendship with Jack Firebrace. After Isabelle's sister Jeanne admits the secret which Isabelle had kept hidden from him, Stephen starts to believe that there really is a future worth fighting for.
Director:  Philip Martin  Writer:  Sebastian Faulks  / Abi Morgan (screenplay) 
Edition Details
Series Birdsong
Release Date 8/29/2012
Packaging Keep Case
No. of Disks/Tapes 1